The Gamemakers (
gamemakers) wrote in
thegamesooc2012-09-27 11:43 am
Entry tags:
(no subject)
We have noticed things have gotten very slow.
Now this is sorta an rp-world-wide thing right now (At least I know all my games are super slow, and I have seen others saying the same), and us being a particularly smaller, back-tag type of game means our new posts might not always be hopping, but it seemed a good time to bring up some issues.
We want you guys to feel comfortable starting your own plots, and doing things not necessarily mod-led. Since this is a very structured game, I know it can be daunting, so we wanted to discuss with you what would make this easier? Particularly in the Capitol, and with rebellion-centered things.
Pretty much we'd like to know what would make it easier for you to feel comfortable just going nuts. We know there are IC reasons not to, and we are willing to set up IC reasons for those to be relaxed, if necessary.
We also would like to know what you would like from us, as mods, to make things more fun? What kind of plots are you interested in? We have plenty up our sleeve, but we'd like to know which direction y'all would be interested in perusing. Is there any information, OOC, you feel you could use more of? We are setting up a wiki, so now is the perfect time to mention things.
Even if you're not sure the how or whys or whats of something, throw out anything that comes to mind. Your thought that isn't entirely complete might bounce off someone else's that isn't entirely complete either and make a great complete one! And if something doesn't seem like it'll fit or work out now, we might find a place for some or all of it later. Just throw it all in here and see what sticks.
Some things to know for upcoming events, etc:
-We are working on getting a wiki up and running that you will be able to edit for your character, arenas, etc.
-We are considering shortening arenas. Feel free to add input below to that. The next arena will go faster for IC reasons, to test the idea.
-Starting with the next arena we will have a new system that will hopefully be more interactive for buying out other's deaths and purchasing supplies.
-Dark is also going to become a dedicated mod for throwing random mod-related events into the middle of threads, so that function of the rp will be used more often.
Now this is sorta an rp-world-wide thing right now (At least I know all my games are super slow, and I have seen others saying the same), and us being a particularly smaller, back-tag type of game means our new posts might not always be hopping, but it seemed a good time to bring up some issues.
We want you guys to feel comfortable starting your own plots, and doing things not necessarily mod-led. Since this is a very structured game, I know it can be daunting, so we wanted to discuss with you what would make this easier? Particularly in the Capitol, and with rebellion-centered things.
Pretty much we'd like to know what would make it easier for you to feel comfortable just going nuts. We know there are IC reasons not to, and we are willing to set up IC reasons for those to be relaxed, if necessary.
We also would like to know what you would like from us, as mods, to make things more fun? What kind of plots are you interested in? We have plenty up our sleeve, but we'd like to know which direction y'all would be interested in perusing. Is there any information, OOC, you feel you could use more of? We are setting up a wiki, so now is the perfect time to mention things.
Even if you're not sure the how or whys or whats of something, throw out anything that comes to mind. Your thought that isn't entirely complete might bounce off someone else's that isn't entirely complete either and make a great complete one! And if something doesn't seem like it'll fit or work out now, we might find a place for some or all of it later. Just throw it all in here and see what sticks.
Some things to know for upcoming events, etc:
-We are working on getting a wiki up and running that you will be able to edit for your character, arenas, etc.
-We are considering shortening arenas. Feel free to add input below to that. The next arena will go faster for IC reasons, to test the idea.
-Starting with the next arena we will have a new system that will hopefully be more interactive for buying out other's deaths and purchasing supplies.
-Dark is also going to become a dedicated mod for throwing random mod-related events into the middle of threads, so that function of the rp will be used more often.

no subject
I think that yes yes yes, speeding up the Arenas would probably help with the lagging activity. It might be the length of the Arenas which might be one of the big problems, IMHO. Clarification on the buying out system might also help.
I also think that, for those interested in the rebellion, that there should be a way to help facilitate something in that direction - even if it's not the intention of the mods, its possible some players don't want to do rebellion stuff yet since they're worried the Capitol will automatically bear down on a character and they don't get a chance to react or save themselves from permadeath?
Also we should totally have player-idea arenas on occasion. That's just me though. Herp a derp never mind. XDno subject
I will say right now, although a lot of things can be done to your character, we will never god mod death/un-playibility. What kind of things would you like to see, rebellion wise?
no subject
no subject
Well. You know.
Stuff might be happening.
no subject
I could so totally get behind this.
no subject
Though I suppose I'm finding outside-the-arena play to be tricky, since there's not a lot of detail there. A list of places close to the Tributes' compound where they're allowed to go would be very helpful (unless there is one and I just can't find it? which is possible). Maybe an addition to the deathroll weekly update of, say, big sales at this or that store, big parties at this or that citizen's house where Tributes are invited, a small riot at such and such corner, etc. There's not a lot of direction for outside-the-arena activities, and in a world set up as a dystopia like this one, some more detail would help a lot.
More open posts to reply to would be nice, too >.> I posted one and got some fun responders, but no open scenes have gone up since, and I don't really want to post ANOTHER myself, already, just to get something to play on ^^'
no subject
Can Victors potentially open their own businesses?
no subject
you should probably app Sailor V, I'm just sayin'no subject
Been considering her or Oppositio Ishtar but I dunno if I'll be able to maintain a second character come January ;^;no subject
fair. but she would be oh so awesome. you could always kill her off if you got too busy.no subject
We can for sure add more events like that to the death rolls! And we will work on getting a map up so people can have an idea of what there IS to do.
Do you have ideas for more mod open posts you'd like to see? We just sorta got over saturated on party posts, so haven't done any of those this round. There will be a big event between arenas.
no subject
As for ideas, the descriptive events I mentioned for the deathroll updates would really be quite good enough for me. They give an idea of stuff Tributes could be doing, aside from training or hanging arouund the complex, and places characters could go to run into other Tributes or NPCs or anything. No giant party posts required, but a note "there is a party happening here and here" that could be used for a PLAYER to make an open post. Get my meaning?
A map would be heavenly, but even just place-descriptions would be wonderful, too. "This is a popular sushi restaurant", "this is the fancy pet store", etc.
(IC money is another question I have :: points to above comment you made to Don-mun XD :: whether Tributes get spending money, or if Neeshka has to return to her thieving ways :B )
no subject
So all of this is can do and great ideas!
And right now she would be getting no money. As long as she doesn't maim anyone she can totally go pick pocket.
no subject
Neeshka is a GOOD thief ;) No maiming required. Thanks much!
(I still want to meet Effie IC someday when you have time :: chinhands :: )
no subject
I will try to get an open thread up with her soonish, but once the wedding is done I'll be all yours for sure.
no subject
no subject
/still Momo
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
I'd also love more information on the rebellion? Sort of like a catch all information post of what's been happening and when, so characters who would be in the know can actually be in the know, rather than players hoping that they remember everything that they were told, or what have you. This is mostly because I know Ariadne wouldn't be the type to ignore it, particularly thanks to some of her CR, but I have no idea how privy she is to a lot of the stuff that's gone down.
no subject
let me just volunteer Sarah for everythingso people can keep up on it easily!Yeah right now is super slow in all rp as far as I can tell.
/momo still-
Friggin' RP. Way to be slow.
no subject
I'd also like to see Kevin get into some trouble in the Capital. Non-lethal trouble but something possibly traumatizing. Perhaps see someone take him under his wing and give him some guidance.
no subject
no subject
no subject
I'd love to have rebellion things go on. It sounds like a major event for people outside of the arena, but I don't think people dare to start something that big without at least some mod input first. If it starts happening though, I think Lindsey would love to be a spy for the Capitol against the resistance. :\ Or seem to be one. He's rather self serving, the little bastard.
I can't really comment much on the other stuff since I just joined and I haven't gotten a chance much to experience other aspects of the game yet, but shortening arenas might be a good way to prevent characters from being segregated too long, especially the ones who are in there longer.
no subject
We will be getting that stuff up soon.
no subject
:\ He'd probably want to try to bargain that he helps the capitol and get immunity for himself and his twin.
Rambly thoughts like whoa.
And, to parrot Don-Mun, I was one of the ones worried about rebellion stuff because I wasn't sure how much/how far the Capitol would go in response. Also, to be completely honest, I'm not really sure what the rebellers are actually supposed to be doing or even allowed to do. For myself, I was thinking at some point it might be interesting for Wyatt, once he's out of the arena, to maybe start working as a peacekeeper - it would give him an in with Capital and he could, for example, run messages and what not for the resistence.... but would that even be something need?
no subject
We have had some issues with a few plot things that were suppose to happen being disrupted by rl, so we're trying to work around that disruption to get the plot back into players hand in other ways.
When/if he wins, talk to me again and I'll see what we can work out then.
no subject
Grey is really missing his experiments. <.<
Formerly, his area of interest was human enhancement, but, well... there's so many wonderful inhuman subjects here at the Capitol.
I've considered two ideas:
1. The Capitol hiring him as a scientist for experiments and/or as a torturer.
2. Him setting up a lab and attempting to perform experiments on fellow tributes without Capitol permission.
I don't know if option 1 would be at all likely and option 2 I've been wary about because of potential repercussions.
Thoughts?
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
And it'd be nice to have special events/puzzles in the Arena, like the clock effects in the 2nd book, but I can understand that it'd be too much on the GMs, especially if you're speeding up the arenas. Still, there can be stuff that relies on the players, like having someone from their cast (or a muttation that looks like them) show up for one arena as a danger. Maybe a game where two people are allowed to win... then are notified 'not really' at the end. Or a real pair arena where you have to stay with your partner, whoever they are, until the end of the Arena. Stuff like that.
And uh... uh... Cakes. The next cornucopia should be a giant cake with different items on its layers. And the whole cake is edible so the people who camp out at it after the carnage can have all they want to eat.
no subject
Thank you >D
no subject
... Oh man they finally fixed the avatar glitch.
Anyways glad I could help you with a horrible ideas. Horrible ideas are my thing.
no subject
no subject
no subject
There are some themed arena's in that way set up (We were waiting a few arenas so character could build heavier bonds to be horribly smashed) but we will for sure look into some puzzle type arenas.
Doing a whole arena as a puzzle might be a lot, but I bet we can put like...mini puzzles in them. There will be an IC (Although not OOC) puzzle in the next one.
That's just unfair to peeta.
no subject
Anyways its good to hear about the puzzles and events and stuff.
no subject
I am actually trying to make it a bit more of a puzzle this round, although I have a feeling it'll be figured out fairly fast. But hopefully I can mask it a bit.
no subject
Second, I think a quicker arena might be good - but obvs. I think a trial run is the best idea!!
I want to chuck up some of Eponine's stuff - I was debating a post about her pickpocketing anyone who came too close to her - but I decided to do this AFTER the next arena. But... I have noticed that things are slow round here. Hmmmmmmmmm maybe like, more open 'meet and greet' logs disguised as a party? Or...... I don't think I've been round here enough to pass judgement yet. But I can't wait to get involved :D
no subject
There will be a party post soon, and if you wanted to have her jump in, you could always say she doesn't realize SHE will be expected to go in.